Presidential Dollar Coins: Little-Known Facts

The Presidential Dollar Program has been around since early 2007.

The U.S Mint has been producing one dollar coins — each with the face of one of our former presidents. Four coins are to come out each year until all former presidents (non-living) have been minted on these new dollar coins.

Here’s more about these interesting dollar coins, plus info about the related First Spouse Coin Program…

george-washington-presidential-dollar-coin-public-domain.png presidential-dollar-coin-reverse-statue-of-liberty-public-domain.png

More About U.S. President Dollar Coins

  • These coins are identical to the size and weight of the $1 Sacagawea coin.
  • The front of these new dollar coins will of course depict a former president of the U.S. along with their years they served in office.
  • All of the Presidential Dollar Coins will share a same reverse that depicts a view of The Statue of Liberty and reads United States of America.
  • Only one depiction for each president will be made — no matter how many terms they served — with the sole exception of Grover Cleveland, who will receive a different depiction on 2 separate coins since he served 2 non-consecutive terms.
  • These one dollar coins also contain the date, motto, and mintmark, but not where you’re probably used to seeing them on coins. These new dollar coins have those markings on the edge of the coin.


Good News:  If you happened to grab up some of these dollar coins when they first came out in 2007, then you may want to examine those edges.

Washington and John Adams were the first 2 to come out and there was an error on some of those coins. They didn’t receive the lettering on the edge — known as the plain edge presidential dollar. If you’re lucky enough to have obtained one of these (there are quite a few), they have been known to sell on eBay for $100 or more.

Beware of rip-offs!… Guide To Collecting The George Washington Presidential Dollar Coin.


All $1 President Coins


The following list shows of all the presidents with the years they served in office and the date they are scheduled to be released as a one dollar coin by the U.S. Mint:

Feb 15, 2007 1. George Washington, 1789-1797

May 17, 2007 2. John Adams, 1797-1801

Aug 16, 2007 3. Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809

Nov 15, 2007 4. James Madison, 1809-1817

Feb 14, 2008 5. James Monroe, 1817-1825

May 15, 2008 6. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829

Aug 14, 2008 7. Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837

Nov 13, 2008 8. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841

2009 9. William Henry Harrison, 1841

2009 10. John Tyler, 1841-1845

2009 11. James K. Polk, 1845-1849

2009 12. Zachary Taylor, 1849-1850

2010 13. Milliard Fillmore, 1850-1853

2010 14. Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857

2010 15. James Buchanan, 1857-1861

2010 16. Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865

2011 17. Andrew Johnson, 1865-1869

2011 18. Ulysses S. Grant, 1869-1877

2011 19. Rutherford B. Hayes, 1877-1881

2011 20. James A. Garfield, 1881

2012 21. Chester A, Arthur, 1881-1885

2012 22. Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889

2012 23. Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893

2012 24. Grover Cleveland, 1893-1897

2013 25. William McKinley, 1897-1901

2013 26. Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909

2013 27. William H. Taft, 1909-1913

2013 28. Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921

2014 29. Warren G. Harding, 1921-1923

2014 30. Calvin Coolidge, 1923-1929

2014 31. Herbert C. Hoover, 1929-1933

2014 32. Franklin D. Roosevelt,1933-1945

2015 33. Harry S. Truman, 1945-1953

2015 34. Dwight Eisenhower, 1953-1961

2015 35. John F. Kennedy, 1961-1963

2015 36. Lyndon B. Johnson, 1963-1969

2016 37. Richard M. Nixon, 1969-1974

2016 38. Gerald R. Ford, 1974-1977

2016 39. James E. Carter, Jr., 1977-1981

2016 40. Ronald W. Reagan, 1981-1989

2017 41. George H.W. Bush, 1989-1993

2017 42. William J. Clinton, 1993-2001

2017 43. George W. Bush, 2001-


Collecting Presidential Dollar Coins

presidential-dollar-coin-album.jpgIf you are collecting all of the Presidential Dollar Coins, you might want to consider a nice folder or album to place your one dollar coins in for safe keeping.

You can find Presidential Dollar Coins at any bank, if you ask for them. What many people do not know however, is that the U.S. Mint is also producing another similar set of coins that are running concurrent with the Presidential Dollars.



First Spouse Coin Program

The other presidential coin set is called the First Spouse Program. You probably will not find these at most banks however. Spouse Coins are $10 coins made with 1/2 oz. of pure .9999 gold each.

The front (obverse) of these Spouse Coins bear a portrait of the First Spouse and the back (reverse) is unique for each one, depicting images from that spouse’s life and work.

Release dates for the First Spouse Coins are concurrent with their respective husband’s release date for the Presidential Coin Program.

There were a few presidents that served terms without a First Spouse, such as Andrew Jackson. During the time his coin is released the coin for the First Spouse Program will depict an image of Lady Liberty and the reverse will contain depictions from President Jackson’s life.

View all of the Presidential Dollar Coins and First Spouse Coins here.



I have been collecting and trading coins for years. Coin collecting is a hobby for me, and I've done a lot of research about coins through the years.

More Posts